Vital Pour vs Four Sigmatic Mushroom Coffee: Two Disclosure Philosophies, Compared Honestly

Vital Pour vs Four Sigmatic is a comparison between two ground, brewed mushroom coffees, not a ground-versus-instant question like some of the matchups in this series. Four Sigmatic's Focus Ground Coffee and Vital Pour's Clarity Brew are both bags of real coffee with mushrooms added, brewed the same way. The real difference shows up on the label itself: what each brand tells you about how much mushroom is actually in the bag, and how that shapes the price you pay per cup.

Copper line engraving of two ground coffee bags side by side, one with a filled-in percentage label and a pour-over cup, the other with a blank label outline and a cup

Vital Pour vs Four Sigmatic, at a Glance

What matters Vital Pour (Clarity Brew) Four Sigmatic (Focus Ground Coffee)
Format Ground medium-roast Arabica, brewed like coffee Ground dark-roast Arabica, brewed like coffee
Mushrooms Lion's Mane, Chaga Lion's Mane, Chaga
Disclosed mushroom amount 5% Lion's Mane, 5% Chaga, stated as a share of the bag Not stated. No percentage or milligram figure appears on the product page
Coffee origin Brazil and Mexico Honduras, small family-run co-op
Caffeine Full brewed Arabica coffee (exact mg not published) About 150 mg per 12 oz cup, per Four Sigmatic's own FAQ
Container 12 oz bag, 34 servings 12 oz bag (340 g), 13 servings
Grams per serving About 10 g About 26 g, per Four Sigmatic's own 4-tablespoon brewing instructions
Price (1-bag) $34.98 $20.00
Price per serving $1.03 $1.54
Price per ounce $2.92 $1.67
Return window 30 days, direct from vitalpour.com 60 days, per Four Sigmatic's product page
Free shipping threshold Orders over $35 Orders over $59
Where to buy Direct from vitalpour.com only us.foursigmatic.com, plus retail and Amazon listings

Prices and label figures checked directly against each brand's own product page and Shopify storefront data in October 2026. Both brands adjust pricing and promotions, so confirm current figures before you order.

Is Four Sigmatic the Same Thing as Clarity Brew?

Closer than most of the matchups in this series. Both are ground coffee, not instant powder. Both use Lion's Mane and Chaga, not a six-mushroom blend or an added supplement list. Both are brewed with a drip machine, pour-over, or French press, the same equipment you already own.

The difference is what each brand tells you about the mushrooms once you flip the bag over. Clarity Brew states its mix outright: 5% Lion's Mane, 5% Chaga, 90% coffee, with "over 1,200 mg of pure mushroom extracts per serving" on the product page. Four Sigmatic's Focus Ground Coffee page describes the same two mushrooms, log-grown Lion's Mane fruiting bodies and wildcrafted Chaga, but never states a percentage or a milligram total. Its own FAQ answers the question "what is the main ingredient" with "the main ingredient is coffee with a sidekick of lion's mane," which is an honest answer, just not a quantified one.

Neither approach is dishonest. A "sidekick" framing sets expectations correctly: this is coffee first, and nobody buying it should expect a strong mushroom dose. But if you want to know exactly how much Lion's Mane and Chaga you're getting before you buy, Clarity Brew's label answers that question and Four Sigmatic's does not.

Why the Price Flips Depending on How You Measure It

Grouped bar chart comparing Vital Pour and Four Sigmatic on grams per serving, showing Four Sigmatic's serving is roughly 2.6 times larger

This is the part easiest to miss. Four Sigmatic's own brewing instructions call for 4 tablespoons of grounds per 12 fl oz of water. Its 340 g (12 oz) bag is labeled as 13 servings, which works out to about 26 g of grounds per serving. Clarity Brew's 12 oz bag is labeled as 34 servings, about 10 g per serving, closer to a standard single-cup pour-over ratio.

That gap in serving size, not a gap in bag price, is what drives the whole comparison. A Four Sigmatic serving costs about 50% more than a Clarity Brew serving ($1.54 versus $1.03), because Four Sigmatic's own recipe calls for roughly two and a half times more grounds per cup. But measured by the ounce, the bag itself, Four Sigmatic is the better deal: about 43% cheaper than Clarity Brew ($1.67 versus $2.92 per ounce).

Neither number is wrong. They're measuring different things. If you brew Four Sigmatic at its own recommended ratio, you'll empty a 12 oz bag faster than the "13 servings" label implies feels like it should last, because each cup uses more coffee than most ground-coffee recipes call for. If you brew it lighter, closer to a standard 2-tablespoon cup, the bag goes further and the per-cup math moves closer to Clarity Brew's. Four Sigmatic's own labeled serving size, not the price tag, is the number worth checking before you compare these two on cost.

The Caffeine Comparison

Four Sigmatic states about 150 mg of caffeine per 12 oz cup on its own FAQ, describing it as "about the same as regular coffee." That tracks with Mayo Clinic's reference figure of roughly 96 mg per 8 oz cup of brewed coffee, scaled up to a 12 oz serving.

Clarity Brew doesn't publish an exact caffeine figure. It's brewed Arabica coffee start to finish, with the mushrooms added at 5% each rather than displacing the coffee, so expect it to land in a normal cup's range rather than a reduced one. If you want a stated number rather than an inference, Four Sigmatic's labeled 150 mg is the only one of the two that's actually on the page.

Where Four Sigmatic Wins

Credit where it's due:

  • Lower cost per ounce. $1.67 versus Clarity Brew's $2.92, about 43% cheaper for the bag itself.
  • A longer return window. 60 days, stated on the product page, versus Clarity Brew's 30 days.
  • A stated caffeine figure. 150 mg per 12 oz cup is on the page. Clarity Brew doesn't publish an equivalent number.
  • Far more reviews and track record. Four Sigmatic's own page cites 100,000-plus five-star reviews for this specific product and more than 400 million cups of Four Sigmatic sold brand-wide. It's been in this category since 2012, longer than most competitors in this series.
  • Wider retail availability. Sold on its own site plus other retail and Amazon listings. Clarity Brew is direct-to-consumer only right now.

Where Vital Pour Wins

  • A quantified mushroom disclosure. 5% Lion's Mane, 5% Chaga, stated plainly, versus no percentage or milligram figure on Four Sigmatic's page.
  • A lower price per serving. $1.03 versus $1.54 at each brand's own recommended serving size, a Four Sigmatic cup running about 50% more.
  • A smaller, standard serving size. About 10 g per cup, closer to a typical single-cup brew ratio, rather than a 4-tablespoon serving that empties the bag faster than its "13 servings" label might suggest.
  • A lower free-shipping threshold. $35 versus $59.

So Which One Should You Actually Buy?

Choose Four Sigmatic if: you want the lower cost per ounce of coffee, a stated caffeine number, a longer return window, and the track record of a brand with over a decade in the category and a large, verified review base for this exact product.

Choose Vital Pour if: you want to know the exact percentage of mushroom in the bag before you buy, you brew in smaller single-cup servings rather than a 4-tablespoon ratio, and a lower price per cup matters more to you than a lower price per ounce.

This isn't a case where one brand is cutting corners. Four Sigmatic's "coffee with a sidekick" framing is honest about what the product is; it just doesn't quantify the sidekick. Clarity Brew quantifies it. Which one you should buy depends on whether that number matters to you, and whether you'd rather measure your coffee budget by the cup or by the ounce.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Four Sigmatic say how much Lion's Mane or Chaga is in its Focus Ground Coffee? No. Four Sigmatic's product page names both mushrooms and describes how they're sourced, log-grown Lion's Mane fruiting bodies and wildcrafted Chaga, but does not state a percentage or milligram amount. Clarity Brew states 5% Lion's Mane and 5% Chaga directly on its product page.

Which one is cheaper, Four Sigmatic or Vital Pour? It depends on the measure. Four Sigmatic is cheaper per ounce ($1.67 versus $2.92), but Clarity Brew is cheaper per serving ($1.03 versus $1.54), because Four Sigmatic's own recommended serving uses roughly two and a half times more grounds per cup.

How much caffeine is in Four Sigmatic's Focus Ground Coffee? About 150 mg per 12 oz cup, per Four Sigmatic's own FAQ, which it describes as about the same as regular coffee. Clarity Brew doesn't publish an exact caffeine figure, but it's brewed Arabica coffee throughout.

Is Four Sigmatic's mushroom coffee the same format as Clarity Brew? Yes, more so than most comparisons in this series. Both are ground Arabica coffee with Lion's Mane and Chaga added, brewed with standard coffee equipment rather than stirred as an instant powder.

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Consult your healthcare provider before use if you are pregnant, nursing, taking medication, or have a medical condition.


Want to try a cup where the label tells you exactly what's in it? Shop Clarity Brew, one bag or a bulk order, no subscription required to reach the best price.

Related Reading

Sources

Real ground coffee, not instant powder

Medium roast Arabica with Lion's Mane and Chaga at five percent each. The percentage is printed on the bag, which is not something every brand in this category will do.

See what's in Clarity Brew

Two ways to take it

Clarity Brew is coffee you brew like coffee. Daily Spectrum is a gummy if you would rather not change your morning at all.